Borodin Quartet Welcomes New Member

The string quartet has announced Nikolai Sachenko as its new first violinist, succeeding former member Ruben Aharonian


Following the retirement of violinist Ruben Aharonian, who joined the Borodin Quartet in 1996, the ensemble welcomes Nikolai Sachenko as its newest member and first violinist. The quartet also comprises violinist Sergei Lomovsky, violist Igor Naidin, and cellist Vladimir Balshin.

Sachenko, 45, is a graduate of the Moscow Central Music School and the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory — and studied with Zoya Makhtina, Sergei Kravchenko, Vladimir Ivanov, and Alexander Bonduriansky.

He has won various prizes at top international competitions including the gold medal for violin at the 1998 International Tchaikovsky Competition and at the 1995 International Leopold Mozart Competition in Augsburg.

Sachenko has performed with many acclaimed conductors and orchestras in Russia, Japan, USA, China, Europe, and Latin America, and has appeared at international festivals in Beijing, Kronberg, Prague, and the Rostropovich Festival in Evian. He also serves as concertmaster of the Novaya Rossiya State Symphony Orchestra under conductor Yuri Bashmet

“We would like to express our greatest appreciation to the magnificent maestro Ruben Aharonian for leading the Quartet for almost a quarter of a century,” the quartet members stated. “Those have been unforgettable years, playing concerts together in the best halls around the globe.

“We warmly welcome our new colleague Nikolai Sachenko — he is a brilliant violinist, a first-class professional and a dear friend who loves chamber music immensely. With Nikolai we are looking forward to a successful collaboration with many interesting projects and programmes for our beloved audiences.”

“The uncompromising pursuit of excellence in musical interpretations has been an unchanging tradition of the Borodin Quartet throughout its glorious long history,” added Sachenko. “I am happy to join my friends and colleagues of the Quartet and, together in our shared passion for the quartet world, I hope to continue this remarkable tradition of musical eminence!”

For their upcoming concerts, the quartet will perform at the Berlin Konzerthaus, London’s Wigmore Hall, and Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, among many others. For more information, click here.

Founded in 1945 by students of the Moscow Conservatory, the Borodin Quartet’s former long-standing members include Rostislav Dubinsky, Mikhail Kopelman, Valentin Berlinsky, and Dmitri Shebalin. 

A video of the quartet performing Brahms’ Quartet No. 3 in B flat major, Op. 67, with their newest member, can be watched below.

Source link

Check Also

The Mozart Lynn Harrell loved most – SlippediscSlippedisc

norman lebrecht September 25, 2022 I was refreshing my memory of the Clifford Curzon-Rafael Kubelik …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.