Classical Music

International Louis Spohr Competition for Young Violinists Announces Prizewinners

Lilja Haatainen, Anton Carus, and Alexandra Weissbecker won first prize in their respective age categories


Founded in 1995 at Germany’s University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar, the International Louis Spohr Competition offers young musicians the opportunity to perform on a world stage to international juries.

Open to violinists aged 21 and younger, it was held at the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar between October 26 and November 4, 2022. The competition is divided into three age categories:

  • Category I – born in 2009 and younger
  • Category II – born between 2008 – 2006
  • Category III – born between 2005 – 2001


The winners of the 2022 International Louis Spohr Competition edition are:

Category I

1st Prize: Lilja Haatainen
2nd Prize: Margarita Pochebut
3rd Prize: Laura Jin

Category II

1st Prize: Anton Carus
2nd Prize: Elza Siliņa
3rd Prize: Lily Sullivan

Category III

1st Prize: Alexandra Weissbecker
2nd Prize: Moë Dierstein
3rd Prize: Hanna Pozorska


The prize-winners concert will be held on November 4, 2022, where winning participants will perform with the Jena Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Nicolás Pasquet.

In total, prizes are valued at over €17,000 and include special awards with concert and broadcast opportunities.

Chaired by Friedemann Eichhorn, the jury comprised Christian Altenburger, Boris Garlitsky, Yuzuko Horigome, Svetlana Makarova, Lucie Robert, Ulf Schneider, and Sarah Sew.


The competition is named for Louis Spohr (1784-1859), who was a masterful violinist, conductor, pedagogue, music festival organizer, and composer of almost 300 works including violin concertos, symphonies, string quartets, and operas. One of the most significant virtuosi of the 19th century, Spohr was also considered the “German Paganini” of his time.

Source link

Related posts

Ruth Leon recommends… Mayerling pas de deux – Royal Ballet – SlippediscSlippedisc

Mary McCartney

Applications Closing for The Colburn School’s Music Academy

Mary McCartney


Mary McCartney

Leave a Comment