Classical Music

Introducing Our New Sky Concert Series: Classical Americana LIVE with Lara Downes

Lara Downes | Photo by Max Barrett

Introducing Classical Americana Live: a series of three concerts-with-conversation hosted and curated by Classical California KDFC Evening Host and Resident Artist, pianist Lara Downes.

KDFC President Bill Lueth invites you to the first in a series of three concerts in January, featuring Lara Downes with internationally renowned violinist Daniel Hope. Enjoy an evening devoted to the throughlines of history, migration, and transformation in classical music.

Daniel Hope | Photo by Daniel Waldhecker

Tickets for the first concert go on-sale Tuesday, November 29 at 10am.

This intimate concert-with-conversation will feature the first U.S. performance of music from the “Fantasy Suite” by San Francisco-based composer Jake Heggie, dedicated to Daniel Hope and inspired by George Bridgetower, the African violinist with whom Beethoven premiered the Kreutzer Sonata in Vienna. In addition, Lara and Daniel will explore their shared passion for celebrating the sounds and stories that have fed into American music through the contributions of immigrant composers, especially via the exodus of Jewish composers who fled Hitler’s Europe and created the iconic film soundtracks of Hollywood’s Golden Age.

Event Details:

Tuesday, January 17, 2023
Doors & reception: 6pm
Performance: 7pm
Hang out with the hosts following main event

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, November 29, 2022 at 10am
$40 per ticket (includes two drink tickets)
Please note: there is a limited supply, tickets available while they last

Classical California KDFC
The Bowes Center for the Performing Arts
200 North Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco

For more information on our series and the other concerts coming up, sign up for KDFC’s Newsletter below and we’ll keep you informed.

For questions about tickets, please contact us during business hours at 415-655-8000.


Source link

Related posts

Fascinating Rhythm Meets Twist and Shout

Mary McCartney

A couple of releases from MultiPiano Ensemble

Mary McCartney

Microphones in the Opera House!?

Mary McCartney

Leave a Comment