New York’s 2022 Young Concert Artists Audition Winners Announced

Erin Wagner, Joseph Parrish, Chaeyoung Park and Chelsea Guo have today been awarded 1st prizes at the 2022 Young Concert Artists International Auditions


25-year-old American mezzo-soprano Erin Wagner, 24-year-old American bass-baritone Joseph Parrish, 24-year-old South Korean pianist Chaeyoung Park and 21-year-old American soprano & pianist Chelsea Guo have been awarded first prize at the 2022 Young Concert Artists Susan Wadsworth International Auditions, in New York City.

All four winners will join the Young Concert Artists roster — granting access to a minimum of three years of management services, career engagements, publicity, and career guidance, plus coveted recital debuts in New York City and at the Washington D.C. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Throughout their tenure, all four will also benefit from YCA’s connections with the industry’s managers, concert presenters, conductors of major orchestras, and financial supporters, as well as its long-standing reputation for discovering and furthering the careers of extraordinary young artists.

The Final Round of this year’s auditions are available now here on The Violin Channel for playback.





Founded in 1961 by Susan Wadsworth, The Young Concert Artists International Auditions differ from a competition, as there are no rankings, and any number of winners can be selected — with each candidate competing against a standard of excellence, not each other.

The jury for the final round comprised: YCA President Daniel Kellogg, harpist Barbara Allen, cellist Colin Carr, pianist Simone Dinnerstein, mezzo-soprano Denyce Graves, violinist Ani Kavafian, pianist Olga Kern, flutist Demarre McGill, pianist and vocalist Ken Noda, violinist Barry Shiffman, YCA Founder Susan Wadsworth and Carnegie Hall Projects Director Adrian Fuchs.


Previous YCA recipients include Pinchas Zukerman, Ida Kavafian, Anne Akiko Meyers, Emanuel Ax, and Murray Perahia — and VC Artists Paul Huang, Ray Chen, Stephen Warts, Zlatomir Fung, Xavier Foley, SooBeen Lee, Risa Hokamura and Jonathan Swensen.

Each of this year’s first prize recipients will perform at tomorrow evening’s Winners Concert at 7:00 PM (ET) at Cary Hall, Di Menna Center — which will also be streamed LIVE here on The Violin Channel.


Source link

Check Also

2 Cellos reach the end of the road – SlippediscSlippedisc

norman lebrecht December 02, 2022 The Croatian cello duo Luka Šulić and Stjepan Hauser wll …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.