Pittsburgh Symphony Appoints Three New Second Violinists

Boxianzi (Vivian) Ling, Regi Papa, and Carolyn Semes all recently joined the orchestra


The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (PSO), in Pennsylvania, U.S., recently welcomed three new players to the ranks of its second violin section. They are Chinese violinist Boxianzi (Vivian) Lin, Greco-Albanian violinist Regi Papa, and American violinist Carolyn Semes.

Boxianzi (Vivian) Lin was recruited while pursuing her graduate degree, which she is completing at the New England Conservatory. She began her undergraduate studies at the age of 14, going on to receive a bachelor’s degree from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Lin has already had an extensive solo career, performing with the San Francisco Ballet Orchestra and Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra, among others.

Regi Papa comes to the PSO after a successful career as a chamber musician. He was the first violinist of New York’s Sullivan Quartet, and has also appeared in the Tallis Quartet, the Olympus Piano Trio (winner of the 2016 Chamber Music of New England Competition), and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s. He holds a doctorate from SUNY-Stony Brook, having also studied at Juilliard and the Manhattan School of Music.

Originally from Philadelphia, Carolyn Semes recently completed graduate study at The Juilliard School, where she was concertmaster of the Juilliard Orchestra. As an orchestral player, she has appeared with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra and the New World Symphony, as well as playing for summer festivals in Aspen, Tanglewood, and Verbier.

“We are delighted to welcome to the Pittsburgh Symphony the outstanding violinists Vivian Ling, Regi Papa and Carolyn Semes, and look forward to their meaningful musical contributions to the orchestra and our community for many years to come,” said Melia Tourangeau, the president and CEO of the PSO.

Source link

Check Also

Escher Foursome Reveals Dimensions – The Boston Musical Intelligencer

The New York-based Escher String Quartet made an impressive debut in the Concord Chamber Music …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.